Review: Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Synopsis: 

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court (a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage (who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward (and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.


Now, before I go ahead and voice what are probably (more than likely) very unpopular opinions, I just want to say that I really did enjoy this book! Hence the 4⭐️ rating.

I just had a few issues with it…

The first, was that I didn’t really care for any of the characters until 300 pages in. I didn’t feel like they were very personable, and the world wasn’t developed enough for me care about anything that was going on. I actually found it slightly confusing.

I haven’t read the Grisha series, and people have told me that I didn’t need to before reading this, however, I feel that it would have helped.

For those who don’t know, Leigh Bardugo has written a trilogy known as the Grisha series, starting with the book, Shadow and Bone. Six of Crows takes place in this same universe, just at a different place and time with different characters. For this reason, reading them before SoC isn’t necessary in understanding the plot. HOWEVER, I just think that reading them would have helped me gain a better understanding of the world this takes place in and therefore making my reading experience simpler and more enjoyable, rather than spending the first half of the book wondering what the hell was going on.

Secondly, FAR TOO MUCH GOES RIGHT.

They are all teenagers breaking into one of the most securely protected prisons in the world… yet everything goes to plan?

Even if something “goes wrong”, it’s all part of the plan. Typical New York heist movie here… I wanted something to go horribly wrong and them be found in a compromising position! They always had the answers, and that annoyed me slightly.

Also, and I may be biased having read this book immediately after ACOMAF, but I wasn’t a fan of Kaz… I know, shoot me now.

BUT. 

I think that’s only because I’m still totally in love with Rhysand, and I saw several similarities between him and Kaz Brekker, so all the way through I was just thinking “well, you’re not Rhys so I don’t like you.”

I may need to re-assess my opinions when I come to reading Crooked Kingdom. Which I WILL do, because I enjoyed this book! There was just so much hype around it, and for me, at the time of me reading it, it just didn’t quite live up to my incredibly high expectations.

I thought the writing was good, and the second half of the book was much easier going than the first once the action started. I’m also intrigued as to what will happen to the characters next. I really like Nina and Inej. For me, they’re the two most interesting characters and I want to read more about them! I also love the little blossoming relationship between Jesper and Wylan because that’s just so cute!

I’ve heard that Crooked Kingdom is much better than Six of Crows, so I’m looking forward to reading that later on this year.

Dear die-hard SoC fans, I apologise for my questionable opinions.


View Six of Crows on Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

