Review: The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Synopsis:Β 

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice.Β 


I’ve waited a couple of weeks since reading to write this review, simply because it hit me so hard, and I couldn’t put all of my feeling and opinions into words. I’m still struggling.

The Hate U Give is phenomenal. Better than that. I can’t think of any word that does this book justice, and as Angie Thomas’ debut novel, I’m so excited to see what she writes next.

Everything about this book was just incredible on so many levels. The characters were fully formed, and even minor characters didn’t get forgotten about. I feel like I knew all of these people, which made me care all the more.

Starr was depicted perfectly, in all of her teenage greatness, and I particularly loved her family. All of their individual personalities shone through, and I just wished I could have jumped through the pages to meet them all! The sense of humour was subtle yet effective, and I found every single one of them to be totally genuine. There was no bulls**t here.

I laughed. I cried. I was continuously in a state of awe at how good this was.

Now, to the nitty gritty. The subject matter of this book is so important. Not only does it highlight the terrifying reality of segregation between Black and White, and the horrifying consequences of involvement in drugs and gang culture, but it speaks volumes about the power of speaking up for what you believe in. Supporting each other in times of need.

With everything that has happened recently in the news, there hasn’t been a need so great for us to find our voices, join together, and find the sense of community that this novel paints so beautifully.

I couldn’t stop turning the pages reading this. I would have read it in one sitting had I of had the opportunity. I wanted to continue reading about Starr’s life and see where life takes her next.

As soon as I finished this book I was sure to put it in my bag and pass it on to my sister. This book is one I want to share with everyone, and shout about it to every person I pass on the street.

If you haven’t read it yet, please do, because I cannot recommend it enough.

The best book I’ve read this year.

Seriously, read it now…


View The Hate U Give on Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Review: The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas

  1. bookishandawesome says:

    Hi, Joanne! I’ve yet to read a review that said a negative thing about this novel. Not that I actually want to read one. But it makes me happy that you wanted to share Starr’s story with basically the rest of the world. I haven’t read the book but I think it’s an important addition to an important conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

