Review: Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Synopsis: IMG_1298

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empireβ€”for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.


I’m finally getting on top of my reviews – phew! Only a couple more to write before I’m back on top of them… FINALLY.

So, without further ado, my thoughts on Queen of Shadows.


This was my initial Goodreads review:

Holy crap. This just got good. Really REALLY good! I couldn’t put it down! Such suspense, and then that twist! OMG. Loved it.

All the exclaimation marks… I think I liked it! No… loved it. Which I really did.

This is by far the best book in the series. Up until this point I raved about Crown of Midnight being the best, but actually it has nothing on this book. The character developments are just incredible, and all of the little details within the plot from the earlier books are all coming together… it’s just mind blowing. I’m so impressed.

Chaol is such a hero, and given such a hard time! He has absolutely no magic in him, and all he does is look out for Dorian and shows such loyalty, yet is just knocked down by Celaena all the time. Poor little muffin, I just want to wrap him up in blankets to protect him forever!

I have to say though… I’m hooked on Rowan too… there’s just such intensity there.

Manon is THE BEST character in this whole book! I’m so engrossed in her story and her development so far. I can’t wait to read more of her, and also of Elide’s journey, in the next book!

The only thing I wasn’t convinced by was the ending with the King… I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but I felt like he hadn’t been crafted as a well rounded enough character enough for me to feel that he was really threatening in the first place, nor for me to feel compassion for him at the end here. The plot twist surrounding these events though were EXTREMELY unexpected though, and i think things are about to get very dark indeed…


Can I also just add quickly that I forced my BF into reading Throne of a Glass, and now he’s totally hooked on the series and absolutely loves it! He’s currently reading this book and is just as blown away as I was. I love hearing his thoughts about it knowing everything that happens and just feeling all smug, but also excited that he’s still got so many twists to get to!

We’ll be buddy reading Empire of Storms together this month – exciting!


View Queen of Shadows on Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Review: Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

