Mini Review: Another Brooklyn – Jacqueline Woodson

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

IMG_1292Synopsis: 

Running into a long-ago friend sets memories from the 1970s in motion for August, transporting her to a time and a place where friendship was everything—until it wasn’t. For August and her girls, sharing confidences as they ambled through neighborhood streets, Brooklyn was a place where they believed that they were beautiful, talented, brilliant—a part of a future that belonged to them.

But beneath the hopeful veneer, there was another Brooklyn, a dangerous place where grown men reached for innocent girls in dark hallways, where ghosts haunted the night, where mothers disappeared. A world where madness was just a sunset away and fathers found hope in religion. 


I picked this book up on a whim, simply looking for something short and quick to read, and there just happened to be 2 copies lying around at work for the taking. It sounded like something I would love. And I did at the time, until now when I’ve come to review it, I’m remembering things that I really didn’t like about it… oh no.

On first impressions, I enjoyed this. I loved the writing style; poetic and flowing, and very descriptive in painting the surroundings and horrific atmosphere of Brooklyn at that time for a young teenage girl.

The big flaw for me though, which I realise now, was that I just didn’t care about the characters at all. I found them very vague and it just felt like something was missing the whole way through. Which is such a shame because I really did love how it was written. I wish that it had just been developed that little bit more!

By no means was this a bad book. It was enjoyable, short (bonus!) and read beautifully, I just didn’t feel for the characters the way I wanted to.


View Another Brooklyn on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

