Mini Review: Heir of Fire (TOG #3) – Sarah J. Maas

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

20617636Synopsis: Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?


First of all, I want to say that I started this book straight after reading Crown of Midnight (Which was amazing, and you can read my mini review here), and had a serious book hangover from it. I got about 100 pages in and put it down. For 2 whole months. The world wasn’t the same, there were lots of changes and my hangover just wasn’t having any of it. I also ended up going through a bunch of personal stuff in those 2 months, and just didn’t read anything at all, so don’t take it personally Heir of Fire fanatics.

Anyway, once I’d dragged myself out of my own miseries, I finally picked it back up again, and boy oh boy do I wish I could have just read it all in one sitting. ANOTHER amazing book in this series! Sometimes after a couple of books the writing starts to become sluggish and forced, but not in this case. It was even more fast paced than before, and there were new freakish monsters and glorious characters introduced, whom I just adored.

I do however feel that certain parts were just a teeeeeeny bit lengthy, and could’ve been explained a bit quicker, however, in true Maas style, I’m sure that every single tiny detail will be used as plot ammunition in the coming books.

I’m very excited to continue reading more into the series, especially to see how Manon’s character develops. I think she could become one of my favourites; what an interesting lady! I also particularly loved the flashback scene where we learned of Celaena’s escape after her parent’s death, and I’m very much looking forward to the introduction of Arobynn’s character in Queen of Shadows – I think things are going to get intense.

I’m taking a short break from this series now, just to get some other reading in, but trust me, I shall be returning to it very shortly!


View Heir of Fire on Goodreads


I just want to say a quick congrats to all of the Goodreads Award 2017 winners – Sarah J. Maas won yet again, this time with ACOMAF, which I regret to say I am yet to read… You can see a list of the winner’s for each category by clicking here.

 

Leave a Reply

