Book Tag: Reading Habits Tag

I have a new found love for book tags. They make blogging so much easier – whenever I’ve run out of ideas for posts, or I’m in between books so have no reviews to post, book tags are the perfect go-to solution! And who doesn’t love answering questions about all things bookish?

I found this tag on Komoberi, a fantastic blog I discovered just earlier this week – go check it out!
1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

My bed. I like to prop up the pillows so I’m sat up and super comfy, if I’m sat up I’m less likely to drift off… If I had a sofa, I would totally sit there instead, I take full advantage when I go to visit my parents’ house!

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Bookmark. I have lots of pretty and cute ones, but my favourite at the moment is a gorgeous patterned V&A bookmark with pink ribbon at the top which pokes out of the pages in my book. If I don’t have a bookmark to hand, which is usually if I’ve just bought the book and want to start reading straight away, I’ll use the piece of receipt paper. I used to be one of those horrible people who turned over page corners when I was was at school… I swear, I could curse myself for it now!

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
I always have to finish the chapter. I hate leaving a book in the middle of a chapter, so much so that I won’t continue to the next chapter if I feel as though I don’t have enough time to read it all. Sometimes I’ll make an exception if there’s a really obvious page break, but that doesn’t happen very often.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
Most of the time, no, but if I have skittles or some other fruity sweet nearby, I’ll tuck into those. It’s particularly great when there’s a high tension point, because you can stress chew πŸ˜‰

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
I can’t concentrate with background noise. Music, no. TV, no. There are just too many distractions. Sometimes I like reading in a public place where there’s just a general din of conversation. I’m able to tune it out, and I find it makes for quite an atmospheric reading setting. But as soon as there is one noise or voice that is louder than the rest, it totally pulls me out of the world in the book. Not a fan.

6. One book at a time or several at once?
I usually only have one book on the go, because I can focus on it more and really get stuck into it. However, if there is a book that I’m not really enjoying that much, or can’t get into, I’ll pick something else up for a little while, and then come back to it. 

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

Everywhere. I actually prefer to read in public places more than at home as I find I concentrate better. I’ll always think of other things to do, or pick up my phone every half hour or so when I’m at home. My favourite places to read are actually on the bus on the way to/from work, at work o my breaks in the staff room (I work in a bookshop, so it’s pretty much what everyone does anyway) or if I treat myself, in a coffee shop or cafe. 

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently. Always silently. I used to hate it at school when the teacher made you read aloud. Plus, I don’t really take it in because I’m concentrating more on the way I sound, and I swear reading aloud is slower…

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
No, I always try to read every word. I even imagine the characters’ facial expressions and what-not. It’s probably why it takes me ages to read… Sometimes though, I’ll accidentally glance down the page and see a huge spoiler, and I’m like Nnnoooooooo. That’s when I wish you could inse things. I’ll always go back and read everything though.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
Like new! I hate broken spines, or bent pages or any sort of damage to a book. It’s why I hardly ever loan out my books, even to my closest of friends.

11. Do you write in your books?
Never. When I was at school studying for my GCSEs, I’d write in our reading texts in pencil, because we were told to. But they were the school’s copies anyway, I’d never write in my own personal books.
Like this tag? Why not do it yourself, and be sure to post a link below so I can see your answers! ❀️



3 thoughts on “Book Tag: Reading Habits Tag

Leave a Reply

