Review: The Wolf Wilder – Katherine Rundell

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

The Wolf WilderSynopsis: Feodora and her mother live in the snowbound woods of Russia, in a house full of food and fireplaces. Ten minutes away, in a ruined chapel, lives a pack of wolves. Feodora’s mother is a wolf wilder, and Feo is a wolf wilder in training. A wolf wilder is the opposite of an animal tamer: it is a person who teaches tamed animals to fend for themselves, and to fight and to run, and to be wary of humans.


When the murderous hostility of the Russian Army threatens her very existence, Feo is left with no option but to go on the run. What follows is a story of revolution and adventure, about standing up for the things you love and fighting back. And, of course, wolves.


Another children’s book here, and although it was very good, it wasn’t quite as exciting as Cogheart.

[Click Here to read my review on Cogheart by Peter Bunzl]

It was however, beautifully written, and one of those books where you don’t realise you’re reading a kids book. It wasn’t patronising and contained themes such as class-division and war – themes you’d find in adult literature – just written in a more child-friendly way without imposing opinion onto the reader (I hate it when authors do that…).

The story was a little slow for me, there were exciting moments, but then it would become dry for a while, and I just found myself waiting for the next bit of action.

For me, the focus was on the beautiful sense of community that these people have, and how welcoming they are to someone who maybe doesn’t look like them or behave in their traditional ways, but has something to stand for that they very much believe in, so they all pull together and fight for their community at the end.

My favourite part of this book was, wait for it, the Wolves… I loved that they were all given little personalities and behavioural traits just like humans, and this made it even stronger when [MINI SPOILER] something tragic would happen… I may have shed a little tear or two at one point (shh, don’t tell).

Can I also just say that the illustrations in this book are wonderful, they add such a lovely atmosphere to the story without drawing away your attention from the words on the page. Just a perfect balance.

I rounded this up to 4 stars on Goodreads, but I actually now feel like it’s more of a 3.5 for me, as it wasn’t as good as some of my previous reads that I have given 4 stars to.


After a very long winded reading slump, I managed to pull myself out of the gutter and finish two books in one sitting the other day!

I’ve also finally go round to catching up on all of my book reviews, blog posts etc, and I’ve got a full week and a half worth of posts scheduled – HALLELUJAH! 


View The Wolf Wilder on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

