Review: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child – John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)Synopsis: Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.


First off, I want to start by saying that I LOVE Harry Potter. I am a die-hard Harry Potter fan. I’ve read the books, several times, and I’ve known all of Hermione Granger’s lines in the films since I was 10… (not ashamed, I love Hermione). But I just didn’t LOVE this.

I don’t care that it’s a play and not a novel, I knew that from the beginning, and I have no problem with reading plays and imagining them as vividly as any regular novel. I’ve read many plays, I’m an actress, it’s what I do. But I just wasn’t blown away.

I went in with a completely open mind. I agree that Harry Potter should’ve ended at the final book. Yes, it was sad and we all wanted more, but it had finished at a high point. A good place to end and hold fond childhood memories forevermore. In fact, I almost didn’t buy it, but temptation got the better of me…

At first, it was cute, with all of the little lines from the books we all know and love so well. I felt warm and fuzzy with all of the memories flooding back.

BUT THEN IT GOT WEIRD.

I had no idea what was going on for most of the time. I mean, WHO THE HELL IS DELPHIE?! What relevance or significance did it have? NONE. Harry Potter should have ended at book seven, as this was just totally irrelevant, and the action element of the storyline just totally clutched at straws for me. It was, I feel, an excuse to make more money from a crazy obsessed fan base (I’m one of them).

Now don’t get me wrong, it was somewhat enjoyable, I just don’t understand the need for it to be published in book form, and advertised in the way that it was. I work in a bookshop and it has been CRAAAAZZZYYYY since it’s release. (You wouldn’t believe the amount of complaints we’ve had from people who bought it and then were appalled to find it wasn’t a novel, or asked “but when is J.K Rowling releasing the BOOK version?” “SHE’S NOT, OKAY?!”

It could have quite easily been published in a regualar format, just like any other play script EVER, and that would have saved a lot of confusion.

In a sense, I’m glad that it was done differently. I think this would have been an absolute car crash of a bad idea had it been written/published as a novel. The storyline wasn’t strong enough to stand on it’s own, and it totally relied on the franchise being so well established to have any success whatsoever.

I feel I’ve diggressed and just gone on a little bit of a rant…

I sound very negative, even though you may have noticed that I still gave it 4 stars…

That’s because I love Harry Potter, and regardless of all of the things I’ve written above, I will always be a Harry Potter fan, and love reading about the wizarding world, because it holds a very special place in my heart.

Please don’t let me put you off reading it if you haven’t already. If you’re a Harry Potter fan like me, you’ll probably enjoy most of it, and it’s always nice to return to the wizarding world just one last time…


View Harry Potter and The Cursed Child on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

