Discussion: How To Get Out of a Reading Slump?

Hey guys!

I thought I’d do something a little different to my usual review posts, and open up a discussion.

Recently, like, for the past two months, I have been in a HUGE reading slump! (Sad times, I know, right.) To the point where in July I didn’t even manage to finish a whole book, and August I only read two, one of which was a mere 150 pages long…

Today I finally managed to sit down and read for a few hours, and managed to finish TWO books in the afternoon, which I actually picked up and started a while ago, but put down in the midst of my slumpish episode. And do you know what? I enjoyed it! I mean, of course I did, I love reading! So why, is my question, was I encapsuled in this long gruelling slump?

“I have no idea.” Is the short answer. Annoying.

So, this is why I wanted to open it up to you guys, my trusty fellow book bloggers, book lovers, book readers. What puts you guys in slumps? And what helps you quickly get out of them? Are there any fool-proof anti-slump solutions, or do you just ride it out until it subsides, no matter how long it takes? What helps you in the unappreciated situations?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below so we can discuss, hopefully get to the bottom of, and finally put an end to the cursed reading slump! ❤️

Because, once the slump has been conquered, we can conquer the world…

3 thoughts on “Discussion: How To Get Out of a Reading Slump?

  1. Emma Evans says:

    I have two main causes for my reading slumps.If I get really swept away in one book and read it really fast, I fall into a slump because I have a hard time moving onto another story. Or, I am just not reading anything that is really interesting me so I slowly stop wanting to read. Usually I wait a little, then pick up an old favorite or a new book I’ve heard good things about and that helps get me out of it. I literally was in a reading slump for nearly six months last year and it was terrible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. brunettegirl27 says:

    In order to avoid reading slump I just read what I want and I’m going to explain better the concept. I usually in a reading slump when I’m reading ARC near by to their deadlines or a book that I wanted to read just because everybody is talking about (I mean sometimes I’ve got surprised on liking it, but most of times just got very bored). Another reason why I go in reading slump is when I stop buying books until I read half on my currently TBR and most of the time I’m not even in the mood to read that genre.
    So just read something that I really want to read. This is how I get out from a slump.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    Sorry about your long reading slump! I’m glad you’re starting to find your away out of it. I think we can all agree that reading slumps are terrible and evil lol. For me, I usually end up in a reading slump after a really good book or a really emotional one. It’s always after a read that I can’t stop thinking about. (I was in a slump a while back over ACOMAF because of those reasons 🙈.) I’ve found that rereading a favorite works a lot of the time. It gets me back into the reading game with a book I know I’ll love. But sometimes it doesn’t work. So I’ve definitely not found a fool proof reading slump cure 😂. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

