Review: Truth (The Oleah Chronicles #1) – Michelle Johnson

[I received an e-copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review]

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5

Synopsis:

Oleah Chronicles: TruthWhat would you do if everything you thought to be true in your life was a lie?

Sixteen-year-old Angel Seriki must face overwhelming truths about her family when she meets Zander Black, a new student to her high school who is smart, charming and devastatingly beautiful. The revelations he uncovers to her about her family’s past changes everything, and as her relationship and feelings for Zander deepen, so do the risks involved. She must now accept her fate and face the true reality of who and what she is. Even if that means giving up everything, including being human.


Okay, so the first thing I want to mention is that the concept of this book was really cool. It was more along the lines of mythology rather that the standard supernatural themes that seem to be floating around these days, and it was nice to read something a bit different.

For me, this book started a little bit slowly, it took me a while to get into it, and I found the writing a bit disjointed in the first part. After the first 30 pages or so though, it really started to flow, and I found myself intrigued by the story. Without giving much away, it’s basically about a girl, Angel, who isn’t human, but an “Oleah” – a sort of mash-up between human and lion (I know, interesting, right?!) I’ve never heard of anything like it before, and this was the main reason why I enjoyed this book.

I found the main character very easy to connect with; she was really quite love-able, and very genuine in the way in which she deals with the changes in her life. The secondary characters in the story were slightly less developed that what I would have liked, I just wanted to know a bit more about them, but that might come in the next book perhaps, as this was predominately about Angel, and rightly so.

I’d say that this book is probably aimed more at a slightly younger YA audience, but it’s a nice, light, read that I honestly enjoyed more than I thought I was going to.

All in all, this was a really good first novel by the author, and I would recommend to anyone who wants to read something slightly different to the usual themes circulating the YA scene at the moment.


 

Leave a Reply

