April Wrap-Up

It’s been a poor reading month on my behalf… I’ve just been so busy with finishing up uni, I’ve had next to no time to settle down and read πŸ™

On a positive note, everything I have read this month has been excellent!

I started the month with The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – very late on the band-wagon, I know! But my oh my was it worth the wait! I gave it 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 on Goodreads. I thought it was thrilling, quick paced and action packed. It was a real page turner for me, and I think definitely deserves the hype it’s built up over the past few years. I’m yet to watch the films, I want to finish the whole trilogy and then give it space to breathe before I sit down to watch them.

The next book I read was Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. This got another big 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 review on Goodreads! Click here to read my full review of this book. I thought that this was a very cleverly written book, being a sort of mash-up between Harry Potter and The Hunger a Games, I really enjoyed all of these elements coming into the story-line. Plus, biggest plot twist EVER! My-oh-my, I always thought there was something odd going on, but I did not expect that! I can’t wait to get my hands on Glass Sword

Now, here’s where my month slowed down. I read those two books within the first two weeks of April, it was all going so well! But then I got into a bit of a slump because I was just so tired all the time from being so busy. But this last week I have finally picked up the second book in THG trilogy, Catching Fire. So far it’s good! It took me a few chapters to get into it, I was thinking “not quite as good as the last”, but now I’m halfway through, and it’s picked up again; we’re back on par (thank god!).

I’m hoping to have finished by the end of this weekend, ready to start May with some fresh reading eyes, and hopefully a lot more time to sit down and enjoy a few good books 😍 I’ve also got an exciting book review to do… Ooh mystery!

Lots in my TBR jar to get through, I’m excited to find out what I’ll pull out next!

What books have you read this month? Any recommendations? Comment below ❀️ πŸ“š

2 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up

  1. theclumsybookworm says:

    I’m glad that you’re enjoying the Hunger Games series so far, and that you enjoyed Red Queen because I haven’t read it yet, but lately I’ve been hearing a lot of negative things. So a positive response is refreshing. Also don’t be down on yourself for a slow reading month. I only finished one book, Crown of Midnight, and now I’m in the middle of Heir of Fire. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • InCaseOfBookishness says:

      Oh I loved it, I thought it was brilliant – I’ve heard negative review too though, it seems there a big divide in who liked it and who didn’t, not much of an I between ground! I haven’t read either of those, but they’re on my TBR, are they good? πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

