Re-Read, Or Move On?

Basically, I have a ridiculously long TBR now, as I’m sure many of you guys do as well, and it just keeps expanding as I buy even more books…

So when is there time to re-read books I’ve already read and loved?!

In my many years of reading I’ve had every intention of re-reading The Harry Potter series. I always gets through the first 2 books in a day, and then make a start on book three, only to then decide that I want to read something else inbetween. By the time I end up coming back to Harry Potter, it’s been over a year since I last read book 1 and so I start all over again… Essentially meaning I’ve read the first 2 books about 5 times, and then the others I haven’t read since my first reading way back when they were first released. Disappointing.

I also want to re-read The Book Thief,Β which was my favourite read of last year, and now my absolute favourite book ever written, and I just got given the beautiful 10th anniversary hardback edition for my birthday. But, no time.

At the moment, with my stupidly hectic schedule, I’m only managing to read 3 or 4 books a month. This averages out at 1 book per week. (Except that I’ve been meaning to read Catching Fire for almost 3 weeks now and I’m still only on chapter 3. Poor.) Anyway, 1 Β book a week, roughly 50 books in the year. I have about double this on my TBR already. Now, I’m going to accumulate many more, probably meaning it’ll be about 3 years before I get through a substantial amount of my TBR, at least enough of it to justify re-reading anything…

So my question…

HOW DOES ANYONE HAVE TIME?!

Seriously, how do you prioritise what you read, and how do you manage to re-read things? Please, for the love of books, let me into your secrets!

8 thoughts on “Re-Read, Or Move On?

  1. Ashleigh says:

    I’ve recently started rereading more books, but it can be hard to prioritize whether to read new ones or reread old ones. At the moment, I’m rereading the Harry Potter series, one book a month. That way I don’t feel like I’ve not read new books for ages. Also, just remember that all those books you haven’t read yet will still be waiting for you whenever you get round to them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theclumsybookworm says:

    I have the same problem. I have a three year old, and I’m a slow reader, so I can never find the time. My TBR pile grows way faster than I can keep up. I’ve been meaning to re-read Harry Potter for ages too, but haven’t managed it. The funny thing is, I mentioned to my fiancΓ© that I wanted to, and he thought it was a good idea and so he re-read them. Haha. I don’t know how people do it either. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • InCaseOfBookishness says:

      Haha! So good to know that I’m not the on,y slow reader! I don’t even have an excuse, I just like to take my time and completely absorb myself in the book! My younger sister and stepdad are machines, they read several books in a week – I just don’t understand how! πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • theclumsybookworm says:

        I like to take my time too. And I know what you mean, my fiancΓ© can fly through books in no time. He’ll say “how many books did you read this month, I read 8.” And I reply something like, “well I finished 1.” Haha. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. brontespageturners says:

    Hello! I FEEL YOUR PAIN. I never reread for the same reason, but I think that’s fine. So don’t give yourself a hard time! Ps I’ve written an ode to my TBR list on my blog to show solidarity with fellow TBR list soldiers! Bronte

    Like

Leave a Reply

