Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover…

Admit it.

We all do it.

I bought a book just a couple of days ago because everything about it was absolutely stunning. It’s a hardback (don’t normally but those) The dust cover is gorgeous with a deep velvety purple background and a big feather and gold and turquoise bits. Then the actual hardback itself is fushia pink with gold leaf designs. The page edges make a beautiful gold pattern and the chapter heading even have delicate patterning about them too.

What book is this? You may be asking.

It is A Thousand Nights by E.K Johnston

The average rating on Goodreads I think is currently at 3.68 stars. Not brilliant but slightly above average.

To be honest, I didn’t even look up any reviews before I bought it. I knew very little about the book at all. I just went ahead and gave them my money because it was just so darn pretty!

Really though, look at it…

img_0454
Now, I know I’m not the only one here who has bought a book because it’s attractive and would look great on your bookcase. And frankly, if you say otherwise, I’m thinking you’re a liar…

You can also look at this from another angle; sometimes an absolutely amazing book may have the worlds worst cover ever designed. Unfortunately, I probably won’t buy it. In fact, as harsh as it is, I wouldn’t even entertain the thought of it ever even maybe, possibly making it onto my TBR in a few years time. Unless of course someone were to seriously recommend it to me as the greatest book ever written. Even then I would search for the most appealing edition printed.

It’s sad though, to think of all of those great books that might get missed just because they have bad cover designs.

Moral of the story? Publish a good book, with a pretty cover.

As Elle Woods wisely said: “books with tattered covers stay on the shelf.”

5 thoughts on “Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover…

  1. thebookprophet says:

    When I first read the title I thought it said “Don’t Fudge a Book By It’s cover” and I thought… hmmm… okay… But then I developed a brain. Beautiful book! I think A thousand Nights is a classic… not sure but I have heard of it from somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

