Hardback or Paperback?

I think this is the big decision for all avid book readers.

I know I myself get torn between whether or not to buy a book in its hardback edition or paperback. But at the end of the day, each has its pros and cons.

Hardbacks are sturdier and therefore last longer before they look tattered, often have nicer covers and look brilliant on bookcases.

Paperbacks are cheaper, smaller and lighter for carrying around in your bag for those moments when you’ve got time to just pull out a book and read a few pages.

Personally, I adore hardbacks, but I only own a few because I would much rather buy two or sometimes even three books for the price that one hardback would cost me. There’s also the tricky decision to make when you have a the first book in a series in paperback, and the new release comes out but only in hardback. Do you buy it straight away and have a mis-matched collection, or painfully wait until the paperback edition is released?! 

It’s a tricky one, and I for one am torn between loving the aesthetics of hardbacks and the economic practicality of paperbacks.

What are your thoughts? Hardback or paperback? β€οΈπŸ“š

3 thoughts on “Hardback or Paperback?

  1. Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf says:

    I may be in the minority, but I love my paperbacks. I love the feel of the paperback in my hands, and sometimes I find hardcovers a little too hard to hold. Haha. That probably sounds incredibly stupid, but I just love them.

    That being said, I saw this beautiful hardcover edition of Throne of Glass the other day and almost bought it. I probably would have, but then realised that I could buy two new books for that price.

    Also — down here in Tasmania, I have only ever seen the paperback edition of a new release. We hardly ever get the hardcover, only if you order it specially. Sometimes they have them, but more often than not, the majority of the store is full of paperbacks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alwayscoolwb says:

    I prefer hardback over paperback because paperbacks well being made of thin paper doesn’t hold up as well. But lots of time I prefer an ebook over paper or hardback for the simple fact of I dont have to read with a light on, it doesn’t take up much space, and I can take many books with me wherever I go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • InCaseOfBookishness says:

      I personally don’t get on with eBooks, for some reason I just lose interest in whatever it is I’m reading, regardless of what book it is. I much prefer reading a solid book so I always have one in my bag ☺️ I do agree with the flimsiness of paperbacks though, I have to take extra good care of them and be careful with them in my bag.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

