Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard: Review (Spoiler-Free)

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Overall Opinion: I’m not going to lie, I was super excited about reading this book, but also nervous because of all of the reviews I’d read. I expected a lot… I’m soooo glad I wasn’t disappointed, I’m literally fangirling all over this book! 😍

img_0371 Synopsis: Β This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart . . .

I honestly could not put this book down. I was well and truly gripped on it from chapter 3 onwards! This was the first book in a while where I’ve actually had to force myself to stop reading and go to sleep, much against my will.

I do have one teeny tiny little gripe with the book, and it’s that somehow I felt like the relationships between characters got slightly side-lined against the plot. One or twice I caught myself thinking “woah, where did that come from?!” Simply because the development of the character’s feelings hadn’t really been mentioned in order to progress, in my opinion. But that’s just one tiny negative against the many positives.

Overall I was drawn into another world. I could sense the atmosphere that had been created and picture the dark streets of the stilts in comparison to the grandeur of the glittering Hall. The descriptions transported me to places where I could be completely shut out from everything happening around me, and feel like I was right there in amongst the action.

I loved that there were elements of magic throughout the book, but this didn’t take over from the main storyline, it was just perfectly balanced whist adding that extra little bite of excitement.

So, to surmise; Red Queen is a must-read for anyone who loves a bit of action, a bit of magic, a bit of romance, some medieval stuffs… It’s got a bit of everything and it all works like a dream.

Oh and can I just say, MAVEN…Β WHHHYYYYYYY?!

Can’t wait to read Glass Sword (although I’m waiting until July when they downsize the paperback edition to match…), I think it may be a looooooong wait! πŸ“š

2 thoughts on “Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard: Review (Spoiler-Free)

  1. Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf says:

    I’m glad that you really liked Red Queen! It is such a nice read, and Victoria Aveyard has created a purely spectacular world. At times the book kind of reminded me of The Hunger Games — not so much in the overall story, just the feel of it. I’m not sure if that’s just me. But I still love this book. And I am also looking forward to reading Glass Sword and the two short stories that Aveyard has recently released! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

