Bookish Peeves…

Happy Monday everybody! Every Monday from now on, I’m going to be posting a “Thoughts for the Week” post. This will be something along the lines of a comparative discussion, or a list of observations on a bookish topic.

This weeks thoughts are on…

image

There are certain things about books, and things that happen when I’m reading that annoy me. And even if you’re a saint, some of these things will irritate you too, and maybe there’s things that I don’t mention here that you can’t stand.

So I’m talking about my pet peeves. The things that tick me off. Little niggles. The things that alter my reading experience in a negative way and may even stop me from buying a book in the first place:

1. Film adaptation covers. Why? It’s a marketing scene designed to make you watch the film, or if you’ve seen the film, then to read the book. Now, 9 times out of 10, the film isn’t as good as the book, so why would you want to remember it every time you look at your book shelf? Also, why feel the need to put the actors on the front cover when more often than not they look nothing like the descriptions carefully laid out by the author… Annoying.

2. Covers with people on. I’m talking about those books with covers that have moody teenagers staring dramatically in the camera. It has nothing to do with the content of the book, and it makes it look cheap and tacky. I won’t buy a book with a cover like this because it just doesn’t say “good book”. It says “terrible book, do not read!” Simplicity is everything. If a book has a simple cover with interesting colour scheme and a design that indicates at the style and themes of the book, I’m more likely to buy it, it intrigues me.

3. Cover changes. Why would you change the cover design halfway through a series?! WHYYYYYYY? I hate this, it genuinely upsets me if I can’t have matching books on my shelf. I actually spent a good month looking for the matching cover design of Rose Under Fire to the blue cover version of Code Name Verity, because in stores the ones they sold didn’t match. Luckily I found it on eBay, but it was a pain in the arse… Another one is when they release the next paperback version in a larger size than the previous. Yes, I’m talking about you Red Queen/Glass Sword. I refuse to buy Glass Sword until they downsize it.

4. Broken spines. When I read a book, I can’t break the spine. I hate books that look old, I just want them to look brand new all of the time. A broken spine on my shelf looks ugly. This is why I’m reluctant to lend out my books to other people. I say to them “Break the spine, and I will break yours.” Well not exactly, but I do warn them that I won’t be happy if the book comes back looking tattered…

5. Don’t speak to me whilst I’m reading. Please. Just don’t.

Is there anything on this list that peeves you off? Or is there anything that I haven’t mentioned here that just tips you over the edge? Comment below, I’d love to hear from you ❤

4 thoughts on “Bookish Peeves…

  1. Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf says:

    I agree with you when it comes to film adaption covers! They annoy me SO. DAMN. MUCH. And they never look as nice as the original cover 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rebecca says:

    Haha! I did an Bookstagram post the other day against movie cover book covers. They’re separate mediums and should never be mixed! I have to confess, though, I’m guilty of breaking many a book’s spine. My husband has been reforming me and I try to be more careful. Really…I’m working on it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

