February Book Haul

So I’m in my 3rd year of living in London now for university, and I left the majority of my old books back at my family home up north. So I’m needing to build up a new collection because currently, my bookcase is filled with things other than books, which upsets me.

The last time I bought new books was last summer, and I think I must have bought about 15 in the space of a couple of weeks…

I read about 4 of them and then went on a dry spell because I read the greatest book of my life (The Book Thief – Markus Zusak), which for anyone who knows me, I still can’t shut up about it. But it put me in a massive reading slump because the next book just wasn’t as good.

But now I’m finally reading again! And loving it by the way. But I’m a little obsessed, and bought another 6 books in the last 2 days of February (plus 2 more yesterday but I’ll include them in a post at the end of this month instead).

All The Birds In The Sky – Charlie Jane Anders: I’ve heard great things about this book and can’t wait to read it! It’s a sort of fantasy magic filled book about a guy and a girl who knew each other as kids, then meet again when they’re older and they both have special powers and have to “save our futures” and I think end up falling in love along the way. It sounds fun.

The Versions Of Us – Laura Barnett: I saw this on the bestsellers shelf in Waterstones, and I’m not going to lie, I bought it because the cover was bright and colourful… But I did also like the sound of it. I think it sort of goes along the lines of how if one thing was slightly different in our lives, it can change a whole scenario. Kind of fate sort of thing?

All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr: Now this book sounds beautiful. It’s set during WW2, and follows the story of a blind girl who has no idea what’s happening around her until she hears something on the radio. It’s had absolutely rave reviews and I do love a book set during the war time. Don’t ask me why, I just think it’s always makes for a beautiful storyline with lots of action and drama, and they always end up moving me to tears…

Room – Emma Donoghue: Is about a boy who lives in ‘Room’ with his Ma. He doesn’t know any different until one day his mum tells him there’s a whole other world outside, and she plans an escape. It sounds stunning and has had great reviews. Also the film is out now, and I don’t want to watch it until I’ve read the book, because films always end up ruining books for me.

One Day – David Nicholls: Now, contrary to what I just said, I’ve seen the film for this a couple of years ago, and it made me want to read the book, but I just never got round to buying it. However I now feel that a substantial amount of time has passed, so I don’t really remember the film that well so it won’t impose anything upon my reading experience.

The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold: Again, I’ve seen the film… I just contradicted myself twice… But it’s such a moving and hard hitting story that I just wanted to read it so badly! I’ve read a section of it before for a sight reading class, and the writing was just so descriptive and grotesque, it made me feel uncomfortable (for all the good reasons). I’m excited for this one.

So that’s it. They’re what I bought. And I probably won’t get round to reading them for a while as I have other books on my to read list first, but I really can’t wait to get stuck into them!

If anyone has read any of these books, lets me know what you think in the comments below ❤️

One thought on “February Book Haul

Leave a Reply

